International Committee on Ultrahigh Intensity Lasers - August 2019 Report to IUPAP

On behalf of the committee and as Chairman of the International Committee on Ultrahigh Intensity Lasers (ICUIL), I submit this report of ICUIL-related activities and events over the past 10 months to IUPAP. Obviously the biggest news in this time period is the most recent. On October 2, Professor Gerard Mourou, who was ICUIL’s first chairman from 2004 to 2008, and Professor Donna Strickland were awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics for the invention of the chirped pulse amplification concept upon which nearly all of today’s ~$5B worth of ultrahigh laser activities are based. Below are photos from the awards ceremony in Stockholm. As mentioned in previous reports, Professor Mourou was the ICUIL’s first chairman and served in this role from 2004 to 2008.